Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Governance: Graduate Student Council

The APA board of officers unanimously approved the creation of a new APA Graduate Student Council (GSC) in 2016. The GSC serves as a liaison between the graduate students in the discipline of philosophy and the APA, with the aim of reporting to the board of officers on issues of interest, concern, and relevance to philosophy graduate students. The GSC advises the board on how to best serve and support graduate students and may take up projects of its own, either by decision of the GSC or by assignment of the board of officers. The inaugural GSC began its work on July 1, 2017.

Graduate Student Council Officers 2017–2018

  • Chair: Zoë Johnson King
  • Secretary: Sahar Joakim

For more information on the GSC, see our About the GSC page.

For more information on the GSC's activities, review the meeting minutes.

Upcoming Events
Application deadline for grant requests from the Berry fund
Saturday, September 30, 2017
Deadline to submit APA leadership nominations
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Nomination deadline for the 2018 Lebowitz Prizes
Wednesday, November 1, 2017
APA Lecture by Valerie Tiberius
Friday, November 17, 2017
Application deadline for the 2018-2019 Edinburgh Fellowship
Friday, December 15, 2017

Related Group News

SOPHIA Wins the 2017 Prize for Excellence and Innovation
Posted in APA Announcements, Wednesday, August 9, 2017

The American Philosophical Association (APA) and the Philosophy Documentation Center (PDC) jointly sponsor the Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Philosophy Programs. This prize recognizes ... more »

 View All News »

Chair (2018)
Zoe Johnson King
Member (2018)
Harjeet Parmar
Member (2018)
Savannah Pearlman
Member (2018)
Miranda Pilipchuk
Member (2018)
Seth A. Robertson
Member (2018)
Aubrey C. Spivey
Member (2019)
Joshua Blecher-Cohen
Member (2019)
Gretchen Ellefson
Member (2019)
Blake Hereth
Member (2019)
Zoe Johnson King
Member (2019)
Guilherme Sanches de Oliveira
Member (2019)
Briana Toole
Secretary (2018)
sahar joakim

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690